, The site for the fans, by the fans....

top news - the top bowling news of the day.

      December 26, 2002:

-Brett Wolfe To Defend ABC Masters Title Against Bowling's Best At National Bowling Stadium

12/26/2002 - Bowling Newsline
      GREENDALE, Wis. -When the 53rd annual American Bowling Congress Masters is conducted Jan. 15-19 at the National Bowling Stadium in Reno, Nev., former Reno resident Brett Wolfe will be ready to defend his title against the nation's top professional and amateur bowlers.

      Wolfe defeated Dennis Horan of Temecula, Calif., 269-172, in the ESPN-televised championship match last January at the National Bowling Stadium to win his first professional title and the $100,000 first prize.

      The 25-year-old Wolfe, bowling in his first Masters, became the sixth non-pro in history to win the event. Other non-pros to win the Masters were Brian Boghosian, 1999; Steve Fehr, 1994; Jason Queen, 1997; Ken Johnson, 1992, and Rick Steelsmith, 1987.

      "I had never bowled the Masters before," said the former Arizona State University All-American. "About 10 days before it started I was still thinking about it. Can I hang with the pros for a week? I decided what the heck, I always bowl well at the Bowling Stadium and you just never know."

      As one of the PBA's "major" events, ABC will guarantee the $350,000 Masters prize fund. In addition to the $100,000 first prize and $50,000 to the runner-up, the top 100 will earn at least $1,000 each. The other PBA major titles are the U.S. Open, Tournament of Champions and PBA World Championship.

      A stellar lineup of PBA's finest players are also schedule to compete including three-time Masters champion, Mike Aulby, 2001 Masters champion Parker Bohn III, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Pete Weber, Chris Barnes, Danny Wiseman, 1993 Masters winner Norm Duke, 2002 Tournament of Champions winner Jason Couch, and many more.

      The Masters features a unique combination of traditional qualifying and three-game, double-elimination match play to determine its champion. After all players bowl 10 games, the top 25 percent bowl an additional five games to determine the 63 bowlers who will join Wolfe in the match play finals.

      Admission is free for all sessions including the ESPN-televised finals, which will be conducted at 12:30 p.m. EST (9:30 a.m. Pacific) on Jan. 19 at the National Bowling Stadium.

      Established in 1951, the ABC Masters is bowling's premier match play event. More than 400 of the world's top professional and amateur players are expected to compete for the 2003 title. ABC members who average 190 or higher are eligible to enter. Entry fee is $400. For entry information, call Tom Boedecker at 800/514-2695 ext. 3415 or send an e-mail note to [email protected].

We're here to help!

At you can get FREE advice from bowling coaches and league bowlers who thrive on helping other bowlers!
Post questions about your game, your technique or find how to overcome difficult lane conditions. You can even post videos of yourself bowling for critique and constructive criticism. Recent Posts
The price of new bowling balls
by BOSStull - 08/02/22 10:19 AM
Ball recommendation
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:52 PM
Tips/Drills for new teen bowler
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:39 PM
Bowling for Peanuts
by BOSStull - 07/29/22 12:14 PM
Plugging balance holes
by 82Boat69 - 07/24/22 02:28 PM
This is a damned shame
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 09:00 AM
We encountered a problem.
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 08:20 AM

About | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat,,, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.