, The site for the fans, by the fans....

top news - the top bowling news of the day.

      April 18, 2001:

-Smith Captures Budweiser PBA Western Region Open

04/18/2001 - PBA West Region
      PHOENIX - Is Robert Smith unbeatable at AMF Chris-town Lanes? It's starting to look that way. The Simi Valley righthander, who won Bowling's U.S. Open at Chris-town last year, returned here to capture the 16th annual Budweiser Professional Bowlers Assn. Western Region Open title this past weekend.

      During a three-game finals stretch Sunday, touring pro Tony Reyes of San Jose fired 279-300-217-796 and fell 89 pins (including bonuses) farther behind Smith, who struck 33 times for 300-279-276-855! Reyes defeated Smith in the position-round finale, 266-233, but Smith still finished with a 66-pin victory worth $3,000. This was his fifth PBA Regional title to go with a pair of PBA Tour wins.

      Smith thanked host AMF Chris-town, tournament sponsor Budweiser and Storm Products.Runner-up Reyes averaged 251 for his final eight games.

      Leading qualifier Jim Murtishaw of Sun City was challenging Reyes for second place, but finished with a 246-247 loss to Jason Milligan of Tustin. Murtishaw, who joined Smith and Reyes with a 300 game, wound up in third place. Milligan finished fourth and Curtis Woods of Santa Rosa, Calif. fifth.

      This tournament attracted 108 entries. It took a 217 average to make the finals and a 198 average to cash (two bowlers forfeited prize checks by failing to "weigh in" their bowling balls at the end of their qualifying efforts).

      Next up on the PBA Western Region's schedule are a pair of Hawaii tournaments, April 22-24 at Lihue Bowling Center on Kauai and April 27-29 at Subase Bowling Center in Pearl City. Smith and Reyes will be among the participants in those events.

-Freshmen Win BWAA's Collegiate Bowler-of-the-year Awards

04/18/2001 - BWAA
      Shannon Pluhowsky, a freshman at the University of Nebraska and Bill O'Neill, a freshman at Saginaw Valley State University, were named the 2001 Collegiate Bowlers of the Year by the Bowling Writers Association of America. In addition, these bowlers will receive a $1,000 scholarship, compliments of Columbia 300 (Women's Division) and Ebonite International (Men's Division).

      These bowlers were presented their awards at the opening banquet of the Intercollegiate Bowling Championships, at the Fredrik Meijer Gardens in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The presenters included Dan Ottman, BWAA Collegiate Committee Chair, Gail Gazdag, Sales Representative of Columbia 300 and Kurt Pilon, an Ebonite International Professional Staff Member.

      Pluhowsky, 18, of Phoenix, AZ was the high scorer in no less than 6 of the 8 tournaments she bowled in for Bill Straub's Cornhuskers. O'Neill, 19, of Levittown, PA was the high scorer in three events this year as he competed for Dan Dorion's Cardinals. Both teams, including these stars, are competing this weekend at the IBC's at Spectrum Lanes in Grand Rapids.

      This year, in a slight change of format, the BWAA narrowed down the nominated candidates to 8 in each division. The Collegiate Committee then voted to determine the "Honorable Mentions" and the Bowlers of the Year in both divisions. In all cases, all 16 bowlers were recognized and presented their awards at the IBC banquet.

      The National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association also presented their All-American Teams at the banquet. The only difference between their awards and the BWAA's, was the extremely close vote for the Men's Bowler of the Year, which was also the case in the BWAA balloting.



Honorable Mention (alphabetical Order)
Robin Crawford, Senior, Morehead State (Ky.)
Jackie Edwards, Junior, Cal-State Fresno
Diandra Hyman, Junior, Nebraska
Cathy Krasner, Senior, Cal-State Fresno

Other Finalists:
Amy Dillon, Senior, Wichita State
Amber Gazverde, Freshman, Central Missouri State
Amy Rocco-Stolz, Senior, Arizona State


Honorable Mention:
Andrew Cain, Sophomore, Arizona State
Andy Lomanto, Senior, St. John's (NY)
Scott Norton, Freshman, Cal-State Fullerton
Derek Sapp, Junior, Western Illinois

Other Finalists:
Pete Albanese, Grad, Western Illinois
Matt Burley, Sophomore, Arizona State
Derek Eoff, Junior, Nebraska

We're here to help!

At you can get FREE advice from bowling coaches and league bowlers who thrive on helping other bowlers!
Post questions about your game, your technique or find how to overcome difficult lane conditions. You can even post videos of yourself bowling for critique and constructive criticism. Recent Posts
The price of new bowling balls
by BOSStull - 08/02/22 10:19 AM
Ball recommendation
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:52 PM
Tips/Drills for new teen bowler
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:39 PM
Bowling for Peanuts
by BOSStull - 07/29/22 12:14 PM
Plugging balance holes
by 82Boat69 - 07/24/22 02:28 PM
This is a damned shame
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 09:00 AM
We encountered a problem.
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 08:20 AM

About | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat,,, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.