, The site for the fans, by the fans....

top news - the top bowling news of the day.

      March 12, 2001:

-Corpus Christi Awarded 2006 ABC

03/12/2001 - Bowling Headquarters
      The 2006 American Bowling Congress Championships Tournament has been awarded to Corpus Christi, Texas, ABC Assistant Executive Director Jack Mordini announced March 10.

      The ABC Tournament, the largest grassroots sports participation competition in the world, will make its second visit to the south Texas resort town. Corpus Christi hosted its first ABC Championships in 1992 and again also will host the ABC Convention as part of the bid. Corpus Christi was chosen over four other cities that also had previously hosted the Tournament, a testament to the multi-million-dollar economic impact the event brings to its host cities. The other cities making presentations to the ABC Tournament Site Selection Committee meeting in Reno, Nev., were Albuquerque, which hosted the 2000 ABC Championships; Syracuse, N.Y. (1999, 1973, 1958, 1935); Wichita, Kan. (1989); and Niagara Falls, N.Y. (1983, 1987).

      "This was an especially difficult decision because each city had previous experience as a Tournament host and knew how valuable it has been to their communities. That fact was reflected in their presentations," Mordini said. "Unfortunately, we could only select one city."

      Leading up to the 103rd championships, the ABC will conduct tournaments in Billings, Mont., in 2002 followed by Knoxville, Tenn., in 2003, where the Tournament will celebrate its 100th event, Reno in 2004 and Baton Rouge, La. in 2005.

      The first ABC Tournament was conducted in Chicago in 1901 and included a field of a little more than 200 bowlers. Today, the ABC Tournament offers five-player team, doubles, singles and all events competitions to annual fields of as many as 90,000 participants.

-Sectional Assignments Determined For Intercollegiate Bowling Championships

03/12/2001 - Bowling Headquarters
      College Bowling USA has announced the 66 men's and 57 women's teams competing in the 2001 IBC Sectional Qualifiers. The four regional events will be held March 24-25 in Downington, Pa., Lexington, Ky., Kansas City, Mo., and Avondale, Ariz.

      The combined 123 collegiate bowling squads are vying for the 32 spots (16 men's, 16 women's) in the 2001 Intercollegiate Bowling Championships April 18-22 in Grand Rapids, Mich. Top-ranked St. John's University heads the list of 17 men's participants at the Downingtown Sectional, which also includes second-ranked Saginaw Valley State University and top 20 teams St. Peter's College and Erie Community College. On the women's side, ninth-ranked Ball State University heads the field of 14 in Downingtown, which also includes top 20 teams Shippensburg University and Erie Community College.

      In Lexington, fifth-ranked Western Illinois University heads the list of 17 men's squads, which also includes ninth-ranked Michigan State University, eighth-ranked Morehead State University and 12th-ranked Purdue University. The defending IBC champions, Morehead State University is among the field of 15 women's teams. Other ranked squads competing are fifth-ranked Indiana State University, 15th-ranked Virginia Tech and 12th-ranked Florida State University.

      Third-ranked Central Missouri State University leads the field of 16 men's participants in Kansas City. Also competing are sixth-ranked Wichita State University, seventh-ranked University of Nebraska, 11th-ranked Indiana University and 19th-ranked Texas A&M University. Top-ranked University of Nebraska and third-ranked Wichita State University head up the 15 participants in Kansas City on the women's side, which also includes top 20 teams Central Missouri State University, Indiana University, University of Illinois and Illinois State University.

      Arizona State University, ranked fourth in the men's and women's polls, leads the Avondale Sectional in both divisions. Other ranked men's competitors include 10th-ranked San Jose State University, 13th-ranked California State University-Fullerton and 14th-ranked New Mexico State University. Sixth-ranked California State University-Fresno and 10th-ranked Sacred Heart University also are among the 13 women's squads competing.

      The sectionals will consist of two sessions of eight, two Baker game matches March 24. The final match of the day will be the position round. Competition will resume March 25 with two more sessions of eight, two Baker game matches. The final match of the day is the position round. The top four teams in each division following the completion of competition at each sectional will advance to the 2001 IBC Championships.

We're here to help!

At you can get FREE advice from bowling coaches and league bowlers who thrive on helping other bowlers!
Post questions about your game, your technique or find how to overcome difficult lane conditions. You can even post videos of yourself bowling for critique and constructive criticism. Recent Posts
The price of new bowling balls
by BOSStull - 08/02/22 10:19 AM
Ball recommendation
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:52 PM
Tips/Drills for new teen bowler
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:39 PM
Bowling for Peanuts
by BOSStull - 07/29/22 12:14 PM
Plugging balance holes
by 82Boat69 - 07/24/22 02:28 PM
This is a damned shame
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 09:00 AM
We encountered a problem.
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 08:20 AM

About | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat,,, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.