, The site for the fans, by the fans....

top news - the top bowling news of the day.

      February 08, 2001:

-Tomas Leandersson elected To International Bowling Hall Of Fame

02/08/2001 - AMF
      LONDON, ENGLAND - Tomas Leandersson of Degerfors, Sweden, the 2000 AMF Bowling World Cup men's champion, has been elected to the World Bowling Writers (WBW) International Bowling Hall of Fame.

      Leandersson, a 34-year-old righthander, cinched election with his thrilling Bowling World Cup victory over Norway's Tore Torgersen in Lisbon, Portugal, last October. A member of Team Sweden for more than a decade, Leandersson contributed to that team's gold-medal efforts in the 1990 Nordic Championships, 1999 FIQ/World Tenpin Bowling Association World Championships and 1994 World Tenpin Team Cup, among other events. His individual achievements include the men's singles title in the 1993 World Games and the 1999 European Championships, and bronze medals in the 1991 FIQ/WTBA World Championships Masters and 1999 all-events. He finished second in his only previous AMF Bowling World Cup campaign (Johannesburg, South Africa, 1993). Leandersson, a three-time national champion, was also 1993 World Bowling Writers World Bowler of the Year.

      "The Bowling World Cup is one of the biggest titles you can win as an amateur, and one that's been missing from my resume," Leandersson said. "I think that winning it pushed me over the top in the voters' eyes. Election to the Hall of Fame not only recognizes what an athlete has accomplished to date, but is also an endorsement of future success. This is a great, great honor to receive."

      Also elected was the late Lita de la Rosa of the Philippines, who won the AMF Bowling World Cup women's championship in Bogota, Colombia, in 1978.Performance in the AMF Bowling World Cup is a key criterion for Hall of Fame enshrinement. Of the 15 bowlers now in the Hall, 12 are Bowling World Cup champions: Paeng Nepomuceno of the Philippines (won in 1976, 1980, 1992, and 1996); Jeanette Baker, Australia (1982, 1983); Martina Beckel, Germany (1992); Bong Coo, the Philippines (1979); Philippe Dubois, France (1979); Cara Honeychurch, Australia (1996); Annette Hagre Johannsson, Sweden (1986); Asa Larsson, Sweden (1991); Arne Stroem, Norway (1977, 1982); and Yang Cheng-Ming, Chinese Taipei (1998), in addition to Leandersson and de la Rosa. An exhibit devoted exclusively to the Bowling World Cup is on permanent display at the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame in St. Louis, Missouri USA.

      The AMF Bowling World Cup is the world's largest annual international sports championship in terms of number of participating nations; the 36th consecutive edition in Lisbon, Portugal attracted 155 men and women athletes from a record 88 countries. The 2001 tournament will be held November 4-10 at PS Bowl Pattaya in Pattaya, Thailand.

We're here to help!

At you can get FREE advice from bowling coaches and league bowlers who thrive on helping other bowlers!
Post questions about your game, your technique or find how to overcome difficult lane conditions. You can even post videos of yourself bowling for critique and constructive criticism. Recent Posts
The price of new bowling balls
by BOSStull - 08/02/22 10:19 AM
Ball recommendation
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:52 PM
Tips/Drills for new teen bowler
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:39 PM
Bowling for Peanuts
by BOSStull - 07/29/22 12:14 PM
Plugging balance holes
by 82Boat69 - 07/24/22 02:28 PM
This is a damned shame
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 09:00 AM
We encountered a problem.
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 08:20 AM

About | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat,,, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.