, The site for the fans, by the fans....

top news - the top bowling news of the day.

      January 03, 2003:

-D'Errico Is 2003 Male Star

01/03/2003 - Bowling Newsline
      Demonstrating exceptional achievement in bowling, education and community involvement, Marc D'Errico of Rochester, N.Y., was recently named the 2003 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow.

      D'Errico already has amassed an impressive bowling record at the local, state and national level.

      The 20-year-old junior at the University of Kansas currently competes on KU's bowling team. He was named the team's most valuable player in 2002 and was named KU rookie of the year in 2001.

      In 2002, he finished second at the Battle at Little Creek Youth Masters and was a member of the all-tournament team in the Blue and Gold Collegiate Tournament. In 2001, he was a member of the all-tournament team at the Colgate Collegiate Invitational.

      Among his other accomplishments are winning one bronze and three silver medals in the 2000 Empire State Games and was a member of the Rochester Young American Bowling Alliance All-Star Team in 1998, 1999 and 2000.

      "Bowling has been a passion for me since I started watching my parents bowl in league as a kid," D'Errico said. "My involvement in bowling has opened a lot of doors for me. I feel very fortunate to be able to combine my interest in bowling with my collegiate experience."

      A psychology major, D'Errico has won numerous scholarships from KU including the David C. Anderson Journalism Scholarship, Crimson and Blue Scholarship and the Whittaker Leadership Scholarship.

      He also received the 2002 Bowling Writers' Association of America Media Scholarship and the Professional Bowlers Association Al Thompson Jr. Scholarship in 2000.

      A BWAA member, D'Errico covered bowling in the Rochester area and was a contributor to the Greater Rochester Bowler publication.

      In Rochester, he organized the Rochester YABA Youth Leader chapter and served as its president from 1995-2000 and also organized and conducted YABA Youth Leader tournaments.

      Sponsored by the American Bowling Congress, the Chuck Hall award recognizes star attributes in a male high school senior or college student who competes in bowling. Award winners receive a $1,250 scholarship, which is renewable up to three years for a total of $5,000.

      D'Errico will be presented his award March 14 during ABC's Convention at the Knoxville (Tenn.) Convention Center.

-High School Bowling USA Re-Launches Web Site

01/03/2003 - Bowling Newsline
      High School Bowling USA has announced the re-launching of its Web site, The newly designed Web site is the official resource for high school bowling. The site not only serves as a resource for new high school bowling programs, it celebrates the successes of high school bowling programs throughout the United States. offers bowling news from around the country, including an updated list of states that currently run programs and state program contact information. Also included on the site are: tips on how to start a program; information for coaches; a list of the benefits of high school bowling; fund-raising ideas; and answers to frequently asked questions.

      In addition, there is biographical information on High School Bowling USA's official spokesperson, 2001 Professional Women's Bowling Association Player of the Year Carolyn Dorin-Ballard and a section about the history of high school bowling. High school bowling materials may be ordered from the site.

-Morehead State Men, West Texas A&M Women Top First BWAA Collegiate Poll For 2002-03

01/03/2003 - Bowling Newsline
      Morehead State University was an overwhelming favorite in the men's rankings, while West Texas A&M narrowly led the women in the first Bowling Writers' Association of America collegiate poll for the 2002-03 season.

      Victories in the Brickyard Classic, the Kent State Invitational, the Brunswick Great Lakes Classic, and the National Collegiate Team Match Games fueled Morehead State to five of six first-place votes and 232 total points.

      Saginaw Valley State University, which had the other first-place vote, was next with 182 points. Wichita State University (180), defending champion Western Illinois University (160) and Lindenwood (Mo.) College (150) rounded out the fop five.

      West Texas A&M's women won the TVEBA Invitational and the National Collegiate Team Match Games, while Nebraska clinched titles in the Brunswick Coca-Cola Southern Classic and the Brunswick Great Lakes Classic.

      West Texas A&M had three top votes and 242 points. The University of Nebraska was next with two first-place votes and 226 points. Wichita State University (224 points) and Indiana State University (208) had the other first-place votes.

      Morehead State (188) was fifth in the voting.

      For complete results, visit the college bowling section of

We're here to help!

At you can get FREE advice from bowling coaches and league bowlers who thrive on helping other bowlers!
Post questions about your game, your technique or find how to overcome difficult lane conditions. You can even post videos of yourself bowling for critique and constructive criticism. Recent Posts
The price of new bowling balls
by BOSStull - 08/02/22 10:19 AM
Ball recommendation
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:52 PM
Tips/Drills for new teen bowler
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:39 PM
Bowling for Peanuts
by BOSStull - 07/29/22 12:14 PM
Plugging balance holes
by 82Boat69 - 07/24/22 02:28 PM
This is a damned shame
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 09:00 AM
We encountered a problem.
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 08:20 AM

About | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat,,, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.