, The site for the fans, by the fans.... Extras

-ABC Establishes Joe Norris Trophy For ABC Tournament Regular Team Champions

04/17/2001 - Bowling Headquarters

      To memorialize the legacy of the late American Bowling Congress Hall of Famer Joe Norris of San Diego and to honor the annual ABC Championships Tournament Regular division team champions, ABC will present a new award, the Joe Norris Trophy, beginning in 2001.

      Designed to be a traveling trophy, the winning team's name will be engraved on the award and it will be displayed at the ABC Tournament beginning with the 2002 Tournament in Billings, Mont.

      The decision to create the Joe Norris Trophy was made after the ABC Tournament Committee considered ideas for honoring Norris in meetings last fall, in anticipation of his record-setting 72nd appearance in the 2001 Tournament. ABC presently is reviewing designs for the trophy, which it expects to unveil the trophy sometime in early summer.

      "Joe is considered to be the best lead-off man in team bowling history and he has an ABC Tournament record that is unparalleled," said ABC Assistant Executive Director Jack Mordini. "The Joe Norris Trophy is a tribute to his accomplishments and will be a treasured honor for those whose names will be inscribed upon it."

      Norris, who was to compete in his record 72nd ABC Tournament in Reno on March 11, died of pneumonia just three weeks earlier. He is co-holder of the record for ABC appearances with 71, a mark first set by the late Bill Doehrman of Fort Wayne, Ind., in 1981.

      Inducted into the ABC Hall of Fame in 1954, Norris held a remarkable 192 average for his 71 ABC Tournament appearances. Under his captaincy, the Stroh's Bohemian Beer team he assembled in launching the "golden era" of team bowling, won the 1934 ABC Tournament team title. He also competed on the Tri-Par Radio team of Chicago that won the 1954 team and team all events titles.

      In 2000 in Albuquerque, he bowled doubles in the ABC Tournament for the first time with fellow bowling great Dick Weber. It was the only time in Tournament history two members of the "100,000 Pinfall Club" had bowled together. Norris, who held the pinfall record with 122,388 pins at the time of his death, was scheduled to bowl with Weber again in 2001.

      Until several years ago, the ABC Tournament Regular division team champion received the Abe Langtry Trophy that was named after the man who served as ABC Secretary-Treasurer between 1907 and 1932. Most recently, Regular team champions have received individual "eagle" trophies. In addition to having their name inscribed on the Joe Norris Trophy, future team winners also will receive a smaller replica.

Comment on the award or post your condolences on Message Board Community.

-Illinois' Jeff Carter Breaks Record For Highest Season League Average With 261

04/17/2001 - Bowling Headquarters
      Jeff Carter of Springfield, Ill., set an all-time American Bowling Congress record for highest league season average with 261 in the King Pinners League at Springfield's King Pin Lanes.

      Carter, 31, set the average over 69 games to break the old league average record of 256 by Mike Scroggins in Amarillo, Texas, in the 1999-2000 season.

      Carter had only four games below 230. His best game was 300 on Sept. 22, 2000. His best series was 848 on Feb. 9, 2001. Overall, he had seven 800 series in 23 weeks. He totaled an 18,060 pinfall for a 261.74 average.

      Carter is the current all-time ABC approved 300 game leader with 63. Entering the 2000-2001 season, he held the record for most 300 games in a season with 16.

Upset by all the inflated averages? Discuss it at Message Board Community.

-WIBC Championship Tournament Prepares To Kick Off In Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

04/17/2001 - Bowling Headquarters
      The 82nd Women's International Bowling Congress Championship Tournament begins its more than two-month run April 17 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

      The 2001 event will feature the ninth largest team entry in its history and fourth best outside Nevada. There will be 9,499 five-player teams scheduled to compete at the 2001 event, which runs through June 27 at Don Carter's Tamarac Lanes in suburban Tamarac and Sawgrass Lanes in Sunrise.

      The 2001 event will feature 24,054 sets of doubles and 48,108 singles have been scheduled. They will compete for a prize fund of $1,531,901, the fifth largest in WIBC Tournament history.

      Entries were received from every state, Canada, Bermuda, Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia and Japan. Florida will have the most team entries with 972. Illinois is next with 634 followed by Michigan with 619 and Texas with 596.

We're here to help!

At you can get FREE advice from bowling coaches and league bowlers who thrive on helping other bowlers!
Post questions about your game, your technique or find how to overcome difficult lane conditions. You can even post videos of yourself bowling for critique and constructive criticism. Recent Posts
The price of new bowling balls
by BOSStull - 08/02/22 10:19 AM
Ball recommendation
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:52 PM
Tips/Drills for new teen bowler
by BowlerBill - 07/29/22 05:39 PM
Bowling for Peanuts
by BOSStull - 07/29/22 12:14 PM
Plugging balance holes
by 82Boat69 - 07/24/22 02:28 PM
This is a damned shame
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 09:00 AM
We encountered a problem.
by BOSStull - 07/24/22 08:20 AM

About | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat,,, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.